During the final years of Louis XIV’s reign the Regency style was already in the making. This style goes hand in hand with the changing lifestyles of the period and peaks in the Louis XV style known for its curving lines – rococo. In turn, two new artistic expressions evolve from Louis XV's rocaille – the Marie Antoinette style and the Louis the XVIth style.

The stylistic movements allow the blossoming of a new taste. These are the Bizarres, Décors à dentelle, Naturalistes, Rocaille - Rococo, Exotism, le Néo-classicism. They fit into each other and it is sometimes very risky to establish quick classifications.

In terms of artistic expressions so different it is easy to marvel at the fertility of a century that will leave a lasting impression in France and throughout Europe. Below is a reasoned selection.

  • Patterns with "II" prefix have not been woven since their original creation. All costs of reproduction including pattern drafting, color settings, etc ... will be charged accordingly.
  • All other patterns have been reproduced at least once since their creation. We have all the elements at our disposal to weave it in the color of your choice. Please consult us as we may have some yardage in stock. Some are even part of our current collection and are available in stock in one or several colors. However, they can also be woven in the color or the quality of your choice.

All rights reserved. Production of all or part of the patterns of this catalog by any mean is forbidden without any prior written agreement of Prelle et Cie.

Les dernières années du règne de Louis XIV préparent déjà le style Régence qui lui même, avec les changements de mode de vie, aboutira au style Louis XV synonyme de courbes, de rocaille et dont les excès conduiront à une nouvelle expression, à deux styles propres : le style Marie-Antoinette et le style Louis XVI.

Les mouvements stylistiques permettent l’éclosion de décors d’un goût nouveau. Ce sont les Bizarres, les Décors à dentelle, les Naturalistes, la Rocaille - Rococo, l'Exotisme, le Néo-classicisme. Ils s’imbriquent les uns dans les autres et il est parfois bien hasardeux d’établir des classifications rapides.

Au regard d’expressions artistiques si différentes, il est aisé de s’émerveiller de la fécondité d’un siècle qui laissera une empreinte durable en France et dans toute l’Europe. En voici ci-dessous une sélection raisonnée.

  • Les dessins avec le préfixe II n’ont plus été retissés depuis leur création. L’ensemble des frais de reproduction (mise en carte, coloration, etc ...) est à envisager.
  • Tous les autres patrons ont déjà été reproduits une ou plusieurs fois depuis leur création. Certains sont même suivis en collection dans un ou plusieurs coloris. Ils peuvent néanmoins être réalisés à la demande dans d’autres coloris ou matières. Nous consulter car nous pouvons disposer de certains métrages en stock.

Tous droits réservés. La reproduction de tout ou partie de dessins de ce livret, par quelque moyen que ce soit, est interdite sans accord préalable et écrit de la Société Prelle et Cie.